Minutes GA 2017

Attendees:

AUT: No Representatives, no comments on Items

BLR: No Representatives, no comments on Items

BEL: Peter Van Damme, Marieke Verheyden

CZE: No Representatives present, comments given on Items and taken into

consideration

DEN: Morten Andersen, Tina Christensen

FIN: No Representatives, no comments on Items

FRA: Frédéric Petit, Matthieu Pfeiffer

GER: Axel Eschenburg (Notetaker)

GBR: John Duckworth

HUN: Ildiko Hargitai

ITA: Marco Montebelli, Marco Milandri

NED: Menno van Lienden, Anneke Kyl

POL: No Representatives present, comments given on Items and taken into account

POR: No Representatives Present

RUS: Pavel Anokhin, Vitaly Novikov

SVK: No Representatives present, comments given on Items and taken into account

ESP: Ivan Maestre Ros, Samuel Tunez

SWE: Petter Ranfeal

SUI: Luc Humbert, Gérard Hêche

UKR: No Representatives

Items 2 and 3: Reports of the President and the Comittees

A written report was presented at the General Assembly which covered the two rules committees. A separate report for the Ranking comittee was also presented at the General assembly together with proposed changes to the ranking.

Voting setup was for every COUNTRY to have one vote (public) to be given for any of the options to offset the large number of countries with just 1 representative. The total number of Countries represented at the GA was 12. Votes given by mail to the Presidium were counted separately. In the case of more than one alternative to be voted on, a simple majority of more than half of the available votes (minus abstentions) was required for an alternative to be selected. Where this could not be reached in a single vote, a second ballot between the two top voted alternatives was held. The voting resulted in:

- Item 1: Changing the way the MERS tournament rank is determined:
 11+2 Yes, 1 No,0 Abs.
- Item 2: Lower the period in which MERS tournaments are taken into account for the ranking: **9+2Yes**, 2 No, 1 Abs.
- Item 3.1 Number of tournaments to be used for calculation of Part A: Option A 5 tournaments and 80% of the remaining tournaments (rounded up),.
 A: 5+2, B: 2, C: 5, Second Ballot between A and C: A: 7+2, C: 5
- Item 3.2 Number of tournaments to be considered in the calculation of Part B:
 Option B 4 best tournaments

 A: 5+1, B4+1, C: 3, second Ballot Between A and B: A: 5+1, B:7+1
- Item 4.1,2 and 3: Date of application: January 1st 2018 (Unanimous in a single ballot after agreeing that all changes should be implemented at the same time)

Item 4: Election of the President, two vice Presidents and 2 additional members of the Presidium.

Voting rules were carried over from the previous issue. Number of votes is given in brackets after the names.

Candidates for President: Luc Humbert (Unanimously)

Candidates for Vice President: **Tina Christensen (11)**, **Axel Eschenburg (6)**, Gemma Sakamoto (5)

Candidates for the remaining two seats on the Presidium: **Frédéric Petit (8)**, **Gemma Sakamoto (7)**, Marco Montebelli (7), Pavel Anokhin (1)

Voting for the remaining seats posed an issue: After the first ballot, Gemma and Marco were tied for the second available seat with 7 Votes each. As before, a tie breaker vote was called between the two, which resulted in a tie at 6 votes each.

Several options were discussed at this time:

- 1. Increase the number of members of the Presidium to 7.
- 2. Hold a secret ballot for the final seat
- 3. Recast the vote for both remaining seats as secret ballot.
- 4. One of the candidates removing their candidacy.

The discussion showed that only the options 2 and 4 were viable. As a result, a vote was called to determine the last seat in a secret ballot. This was passed with 9 yes, 1 no and 1 abstention. The secret ballot was held to determine the final Presidium member, resulting in 8 votes for Gemma Sakamoto and 4 votes for Marco Montebelli

Item 5: Committees:

- The MCR Rules committee is restarted : Morten Andersen, 1 Member for Italy, Luc Humbert, Axel Eschenburg, 1 Member for Belgium, 1 Member for France
- The Riichi Rules committee remains unchanged.
- The Ranking committee stays together, Axel Eschenburg resigned from the committee
- A new Voting Committee is formed: Luc Humbert (chairman), 1 Member for Poland (suggested no polish representative present), Axel Eschenburg

Item 6

Two proposals for hosting the 2015 ERMC were presented to the GA. One proposal from Austria to hold the ERMC in May 2019 near Vienna. The second proposal was presented by the Nederlandse Mahjong Board to host the ERMC in June 2019 in s'Hertogenbosch.

The proposal from the Nederlandse Mahjong Board was accepted by the General Assembly.

Item 7

Proposal for the General Assembly 2017 by Vitaly Novikov: The Russian Mahjong Federation asks to be granted a number of additional RERS ranked tournaments due the size of the territory and the large number of players.

During the discussion the proposal was amended to include MCR (MERS) ranked tournaments and to set the number to 3 in order to grant Siberia the same rights as were given to La Reunion in 2012. The question if this may skew quotas was raised during the discussion, but no clear opinion emerged.

The proposal was accepted by the General Assembly.

Item 8

FIMJ asks for a clear decision from WMO if to hold the 2019 MCR World Championship in Italy. Discussion with WMO have proven to be troublesome. The Presidium accepts the task of getting a clear decision for or against hosting the WMC 2019 WMC in Italy.

The board asks for Proposals for the 2020 OEMC to be presented by Jul 1st 2018. They will be voted on by the board in order to give the organizer sufficient time to prepare the tournament.